Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: timeclock window - Database file in use

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Posts
    4

    Default timeclock window - Database file in use

    I have searched the forums and couldn't find anything about it but on my client machines, I'm getting a database in use error when somebody has the timeclock window open. I've been telling everybody to close it after then login but it gets frustrating sometimes when I have to go office to office to see who didn't close it. This also eliminates the messaging feature since the window is closed. Anybody know what I should look for in the settings to see about clearing this up?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    2,518

    Default

    Are you getting any pop up bug reports that would help us if you send them to us? Those generally tell us exactly what is happening.
    Paul Mayer
    ZPAY Payroll Systems, Inc.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Posts
    4

    Default

    https://www.dropbox.com/s/ral067no6h...0-18.jpeg?dl=0

    Here are errors from both admin and client from machine 1 while machine 2 has timeclock window open.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    2,518

    Default

    The one error tells you that you lost the connection to the database. Shut down TimeClockWindow, then using your file explorer r-establish the connection to the folder where the database is located and restart TimeClockWindow. The Admin Tool is telling you that it also lost connection to the database.

    Did you setup Access to the database for all users like we show in this Tutorial?

    http://timeclockwindow.com/help/SetF...ies/index.html
    Paul Mayer
    ZPAY Payroll Systems, Inc.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Shutting it down doesn't stop the error, the error happens when somebody else has the window open. I've done the permissions as well and verified that they all work but its a sharing issue that I can't figure out. The file is getting locked when somebody opens it so anybody else who tries to open it gets a connection error.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    2,518

    Default

    I'm baffled on what the problem is as we cannot replicate it here and others are not having a problem that has been reported. Even the one customer that has over 100 computers connected at a large call center. Can you test by shutting down TCW on one computer and then seeing if the others have a problem and one by one test to see if one of the computers is the culprit?
    Paul Mayer
    ZPAY Payroll Systems, Inc.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Posts
    4

    Default

    I tried that too. I'll try a few more things on the server side and see if the server is limiting connectivity or maybe I'll try and start a new file to see if the permission are somehow screwed up in that folder and post back my results.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •